4 Starter PvP Fits
Basic Guides > First Guides > 4 Starter PvP Fits
Last revision 62 months ago

4 Starter PvP Fits

These fits require the skill Powergrid Management at level V

In order to properly start PvP, here are 4 affordable fits (between 13 and 7 million ISK) for new players. These fits aren't best suited for supporting large fleets (I will assume that if you're in large group, you don't need me to find fittings), but they do very well alone or in small groups.

Therefore, the following fits are recommended in:

  • A frigate duel
  • A small group
  • A "Heavy Tackler" role in medium to large groups
    • Heavy Tackler: A ship that needs to tackle the target, while being able to resist by itself to its damages for a short duration. Compared to regular tacklers, Heavy Tacklers are slower, but more resilient.

The fits are all flown the same way: Rush toward the target, activate the warp scrambler, deactivate the microwarpdrive, and brawl.

This playstyle enables you to not have to focus too much on flying the ship. Priority is given to learning to micromanage the modules. Something that is often overlooked when training a new player, because it is less noticeable than your flying skills (or lack thereof).

Besides, it is impossible to learn advanced flying techniques if you aren't already capable of properly handling your modules!

I highly recommend you to read the description of all the modules and ships presented below, in the guide's order, even if you aren't using all of them. It is important that you better understand not only how your ship works, but also your opponent's. This guide will also be constructed in a way that I will not re-explain what I already explained above.

 

Main modules

Microwarpdrive

The 5MN Microwarpdrive enables you to move pretty fast, but will be forcefully deactivated if you are under the effect of a Warp Scrambler. It is important to keep in mind that the ship will have a huge inertia while using this module, which requires you to anticipate the slowing down process when you reach your target. Otherwise, you will overshoot, that is, you will get carried away and actually end up in a position where the target can escape simply by moving away from you (= a "sligshot").

Since the MWD (Microwarpdrive) cycle is 10 seconds, stopping the module to slow down isn't always an option, because this action may be delayed by up to 10 seconds. It is therefore highly recommended that you use the stop ship shortcut to slow down, CTRL + SPACE.

If you feel particularly daring, you can instead try to turn your camera 180° and double click in space to accelerate in the opposite direction of motion which will slow your ship down even faster. Don't forget to stop your ship when your speed reaches 0 though, or you will turn around.

It is possible to overheat the MWD, but this will damage your modules very quickly, especially on ships with few midslots. Always keep in mind that overheating still has to inflict its damages for the current cycle, so be very very careful when overheating the MWD. If you're unlucky, 2 is already the maximum safe number of overheat cycles on an MWD.

Warp Scrambler

The Warp Scrambler must be activated as soon as possible to deactivate the MWD of your opponent. For that reason, it is possible to briefly overheat it, to be able to tackle the opponent a tiny bit earlier.

SMALL CAPACITOR BOOSTER
The Capacitor Booster will inject capactor directly into your ship when activated. The amount injected is related to the Navy Cap Booster used.

Since your ship does NOT have 400GJ of total capacitor, to avoid wasting cap, Navy Cap Boosters 200 have been installed instead.

Be careful not to waste your "cap charges" by letting the module run while you don't need it.

ANCILLARY SHIELD BOOSTER
Also known as ASB, this module also consumes Cap Charges, just like the Capacitor Booster, but replenishes your shield instead.

The amount repaired is independant of the charge consumed, and does not consume capacitor. However, the module's reload time is extremely long (which is its main weakness), requiring players to maximize the amount of cap charges loaded inside the module.

Therefore, you must always use the smallest Cap Charge allowed in your Ancilary Shield Booster. The minimum changes depending on the size of the ASB used. In our case (Medium size), we are using Navy Cap Boosters 50.

With those charges, you will have 9 cycles per module before having to reload. Therefore, be careful not to waste any cycle! Familiarize yourself with the repped HP amount, and with what this represents on your shield bar, in your UI. This will help you know when to activate the module, and when to wait for more damages to come.

It is recommended to overheat the ASBs in order to increase by 10% the amount of shield HP gained.

ATTENTION: When your ASB becomes empty due to no Cap Charges remaining, it will drain your capacitor in one or two cycles.

It is important NOT to let that happen, unless you are already on the verge of dying anyway. Otherwise, your capacitor will be emptied and may severely cripple you for the remainder of the fight.

Since the reload time is 60 seconds for this module, it is also important to empty ONE of them as fast as possible (without wasting the shield HP though), in order to start the reload process as soon as possible. This might enable said process to end before the end of the fight, effectively providing you with a bonus ASB.

And so, try to only activate one ASB, then the other once the first is empty. Instead of both in parallel. Of course, if you are taking too much damages, it is possible to activate both ASBs at the same time to give you a huge (but brief) tank.

NANITE REPAIR PASTE

The Nanite Repair Paste enables you to repair, mid-flight, the damages caused to your previously overheated modules. However, you cannot overheat while a repair is in progress nor activate the repaired modules, so time your repairs wisely. They can be cancelled by right clicking on the repairing module, which will actually retain the progress made during the repair process.

Since overheating is an integral part of PvP, all the fits below have some Paste in their cargohold.

ANCILLARY ARMOR REPAIRER

Also know as AAR, this module works like the ASB, but regenerates armor HP. It however consumes capacitor at a manageable speed even when loaded with its charges, which aren't Cap Charges, but Nanite Repair Paste.

As long as this module has Nanite Repair Paste in it (for 8 cycles maximum), it repairs three times the regular HP amount. You can then either let the module run for a lesser repaired amoount, or you can start its 60 seconds reload process.

Since this module consumes capacitor regardless of its charges state, a Capacitor Booster (to inject capacitor into your ship) is often needed when you equip an AAR.

ARMOR REPAIRER

A complement to the AAR, the regular Armor Repairer does not requires Nanite Repair Paste, and repairs at a fixed rate, in exchange of capacitor. It therefore also requires to have a Capacitor Booster equipped.

Drones

Three ships of our four below have a drone bay. In these three ship's cases, it is therefore important to use your drones in a fight if you want to exploit your ship's full potential.

The shortcut to send your drone on your selected target is F. To recall them, press CTRL + R.

 

Ships

MERLIN

This brawling Merlin is a tough ship with a good offensive potential. But be wary of the very short range of its weapons! It is therefore paramount to stay at 1km from the target, and to not let it escape. This is the biggest challenge while flying this ship.

Also keep in mind that your tanking isn't unlimited, so do not waste your charges! You are however capable of tanking huge amounts of damages for a short period by activating both ASBs, which may be useful if you just need to hold on while the reinforcements are on their way.

Note: The presence of T2 rigs on small T1 ships is only justified by the fact that this fitting is substantially less expensive than the other three below, and that T2 shield rigs are not expensive.

REMPLACER CECI
 
Incursus

Just like the brawl Merlin, the brawl Incursus has the same range, same speed, and same need to be wary of its short weapon range.

However, where the Merlin was capable of tanking lots of damages over a short period, the Incursus is capable of tanking a bit less damages over a very long period. This definitely makes the difference during very close fights.

And don't forget to use your drone!

REMPLACER CECI
 
Tormentor

The Tormentor is similar to the Incursus in terms of tank, since it is also capable of playing the long game. (Slightly less effectively)

However, the Tormentor is way more efficient with its weapon system than the Incursus. Not necessarily in terms of raw DPS, but instead because its weapons have a very good range (for a brawling ship), which enables them to start firing way earlier, which in turn results in superior damages when looking at the overall fight, even though on paper the Incursus has a higher DPS. Don't hesitate to try and distance yourself a bit from the target, if said target is using blasters (like the Incursus or the Merlin above) in order to fully exploit this advantage.

Unfortunately, due to Powergrid and CPU limitations, the Tormentor is fitted with two similar, but not identical, turrets in its high slots. This will make your weapon management slightly harder as you have to press two buttons instead of one each time you need to attack, stop, or change your ammo. There is however no alternative besides increasing your Powergrid skills to equip three "Small Focused Pulse Energy Beam I".

It is recommended to use the "Multifrequency" crystals as often as possible, but "Standard" crystals have better range, which might be useful in some situations. Don't hesitate to abuse the instantaneous reload time of laser turrets.

And once again, don't forget to use your drones!

REMPLACER CECI
 
Breacher

The Breacher is a very different ship from the other three presented so far in terms of weapon systems, as it uses rockets. The Breacher has a good range (for a brawler), and will always hit its target regardless of how close it is (as long as said target is within the range of the missile). However, its raw DPS is weaker. To offset this, it is important to make a few extra efforts: 

  • Use the generous range of your weapons to start applying damages as soon as possible (much like the Tormentor)
  • Change the ammo type used (and therefore, the damage type dealt) depending on the ship you encounter.

The Breacher is the only one of the four ships presented here, that is capable of changing its damage type. It is therefore important to use and abuse this feature to unleash the Breacher's full potential!

  • If the opponent is shield tanked (Caldari ships, and some Minmatar ships), use Mjolnir rockets.
  • If the target is Armor tanked, use Nova rockets.
  • Try to anticipate the swapping of damage type as soon as possible, as it takes a full 10 seconds to complete.

Finally, the Breacher's tanking is exacly like the Merlin, which means good tanking for a moderate amount of time, or very good tanking for a very short time.

Also worth noting, is the fact that the breacher is 33% faster than the other three ships shown above.

And, for the last time, don't forget to use your drones!

REMPLACER CECI

4 fits PvP pour bien commencer
Guides basiques > Premiers guides > 4 fits PvP pour bien commencer
Dernière révision il y a 36 mois

4 fits pvp pour débutant

Ces fittings requièrent le skill Powergrid Management au niveau 5

Afin de bien commencer le PVP, voici 4 fits abordables (Entre 13 et 7 millions d'ISKs) pour les débutants. Ces fits ne sont pas les meilleurs en terme de support (là où les débutants sont le plus utile), mais ils sont très efficaces pour se débrouiller seul ou en petit groupe.

Ainsi, ces fits sont recommandés pour :

  • un usage solo, en duel
    • Donc en 1 v 1
  • un usage en petit groupe
  • un usage de "Heavy Tackler" en moyen/gros groupe
    • Heavy Tackler : Un vaisseau devant retenir la cible, tout en étant capable de résister lui-même aux dégâts, en échange d'un peu de vitesse maximale quand on le compare aux tacklers normaux, plus fragiles mais plus rapide.

Ces fits se comportent tous de la même manière : Foncez sur la cible au corps à corps, activez le warp scrambler, coupez le microwarpdrive, et ouvrez le feu tout en essayant de ne pas être le premier à mourir !

Ce style de jeu vous permet de ne pas avoir à vous focaliser autant sur le pilotage du vaisseau. La priorité est en fait donnée à apprendre le micromanagement des modules. Un point souvent sous-estimé lors de l'apprentissage d'un nouveau joueur, car moins "visible" que vos talents de pilotage.

Pourtant, impossible d'apprendre des techniques avancées si vous n'êtes pas déjà capable de bien gérer vos modules ! Et c'est pour cela que tous les fittings donnés sont des fittings fonctionnant au corps_à_corps. Parce qu'ils fonctionnent autant en solo qu'en petit groupe, et même qu'en gros groupe en tant qu'heavy tackler, vous êtes garanti d'avoir une utilité, que vous jouiez seul ou en corporation/alliance.

Il est recommandé de lire la description de tous les modules et de tous les ships ci-dessous, dans l'ordre, même si vous n'êtes pas concerné par tous. Afin de mieux comprendre le fonctionnement des potentiels adversaires que vous allez rencontrer, mais également car je vais parfois faire référence à quelque chose abordé juste au dessus.

 

MODULES PRINCIPAUX

Microwarpdrive

Le 5MN Microwarpdrive permet d'accélérer très vite, mais sera désactivé de force si vous êtes sous l'effet d'un Warp Scrambler. Il est important de garder à l'esprit que le vaisseau possède une forte inertie lorsque vous utilisez ce module, il faut donc anticiper l'arrêt lorsque vous atteignez votre cible, sinon vous risquez "d'overshoot", c'est à dire de vous laisser emporter par votre élan et de la dépasser.

Comme le cycle d'un microwarpdrive est de 10 secondes, arrêter le module pour ralentir n'est pas toujours une option, car cela peut se faire avec un délai pouvant atteindre 10 secondes.
Il est donc recommandé d'utiliser le raccourci d'arrêt du vaisseau, pour ralentir rapidement. Cela se fait en utilisant le raccourci CTRL + ESPACE.

Il est possible d'overheat le microwarpdrive, mais cela va endommager vos modules très rapidement. En particulier sur les vaisseaux ayant peu de med slots.

Warp Scrambler

Le Warp Scrambler doit être activé dès que possible pour désactiver le microwarpdrive de l'adversaire. Pour cette raison, il est possible de l'overheat brièvement pour amorcer le combat, afin d'augmenter sa portée.

SMALL CAPACITOR BOOSTER
Le Capacitor Booster va injecter du capacitor directement dans votre vaisseau quand vous l'activez. Le montant injecté dépend du Navy Cap Booster que vous mettez dedans.

Etant donné que votre vaisseau n'a pas 400GJ de capacitor total, afin d'éviter du gaspillage, c'est en fait des Cap Booster 200 qui ont été équipés.

Attention de ne pas gaspiller vos "Charges" (le nom des munitions) en laissant le module tourner quand vous n'en avez pas besoin.

ANCILLARY SHIELD BOOSTER
Abrégé ASB, ce module consomme des Cap Booster charges, exactement comme le Capacitor Booster ci-dessus, en échange d'une réparation de votre shield.

Cette réparation est indépendante de la taille de la charge consommée, et ne consomme pas de capacitor.
Par contre, son temps de recharge est extrêmement long (c'est la principale faiblesse de ce module), ce qui demande aux joueurs de maximiser le nombre de cap charges présentes dans le modules.

Il faut donc toujours utiliser les Charges les plus petites autorisées dans les Shield Boosters. Le minimum autorisé varie en fonction de la taille du module. Dans notre cas (taille Medium), ce sont des Navy Cap Booster 50.

Avec ces charges, vous aurez droit à 9 cycles par module avant de devoir recharger. Faites donc attention à ne pas les gaspiller ! Familiarisez-vous avec le montant de PV rendus par rapport au montant total de shield, afin de savoir quand activer le module, et quand attendre.

Il est recommandé d'overheat les Ancillary Shield Boosters pour augmenter de 10% le montant de points de vie gagné.

ATTENTION : Quand vos charges arrivent à 0, l'Ancillary Shield Booster va consommer votre capacitor à la place, mais à des montants très élevés.

Il est important de ne PAS laisser cela se produire, sous peine de vider votre capacitor en quelques secondes (à moins que vous tentiez d'extraire un cycle bonus, en étant au bord de la mort)

Comme le temps de recharge est de 60 secondes pour ce module, il est également important d'en vider UN le plus vite possible (mais sans gaspiller) afin de lancer la recharge, ce qui pourrait permettre à celle-ci de se terminer avant la fin du combat.

Donc, privilégiez d'activer un Ancillary Shield Booster puis l'autre, et non-pas les deux en parallèle. Mais si vous prenez vraiment trop de dégâts, il est possible d'activer les deux en même temps pour un énorme (mais bref) tank.

NANITE REPAIR PASTE

Les nanite repair paste permettent de réparer, en vol, les dégâts infligés aux modules endommagés par de l'overheat. Par contre, impossible d'overheat votre vaisseau, et d'utiliser le module étant réparé, pendant la réparation.

C'est pour cette raison que tous les vaisseaux ont au moins un peu de Nanite Repair Paste dans leur cargo.

ANCILLARY ARMOR REPAIRER

Abrégé AAR, ce module est comme un ASB, mais pour l'armor. Il consomme du capacitor ET un autre type de charge appellé des "Nanite Repair Paste".

Tant que ce module possède des Nanite Repair Paste (donc durant 8 cycles maximum), il soigne 3x le montant normal de points d'armor soigné. Ensuite, vous pouvez laisser ce module tourner pour une réparation moindre, ou vous pouvez lancer sa recharge de 60 secondes.

Comme ce module consomme du capacitor quoi qu'il arrive, la présence d'un Capacitor Booster (pour ré-injecter du capacitor) est nécessaire.

ARMOR REPAIRER

En complément de l'AAR, l'Armor Repairer normal ne nécessite pas de Nanite Repair Paste, et répare à un taux fixe constant quoi qu'il arrive, en échange de capacitor.

Il requiert donc lui-aussi la présence d'un Capacitor Booster, pour être capable d'avoir suffisament de capacitor pour être alimenté.

Drones

Trois des quatre ships ci-dessous peuvent utiliser des drones. Dans ce cas, il est donc important de bien utiliser vos drones si vous voulez exploiter votre vaisseau à plein potentiel.

Le raccourci pour envoyer vos drones sur votre cible active est F. Tandis que pour les rappeler, il faut utiliser CTRL + R.

 

VAISSEAUX

MERLIN

Ce Merlin de brawl (combat au corps à corps) est vaisseau résistant et avec un bon potentiel offensif. Attention à la très courte portée des armes ! Il faut faire attention à bien arriver à 1 km de la cible, et à ne pas la laisser s'échapper. C'est la plus grosse difficulté de ce vaisseau.

Attention à votre tanking qui n'est pas illimité. Ne gaspillez pas vos charges ! Vous êtes en revanche capable de résister à de très gros dégâts pendant un court instant, ce qui est très utile si vous avez juste besoin de tenir le temps que des renforts arrivent.

(Note : La présence de rigs T2 n'est justifiée que par le fait que ce fitting est nettement moins cher que les trois autres ci-dessous, et que les rigs de shield T2 sont peu chers)

REMPLACER CECI
 
Incursus

Similaire au Merlin de brawl, l'Incursus de brawl possède la même portée, la même vitesse, et le même besoin de faire attention à la très courte portée de ses armes, que son frère Caldari.

En revanche, là où le Merlin va être capable de tanker très fort pendant un bref instant, l'Incursus est capable de tenir sur la durée, ce qui va faire la différence sur certains fights très serrés.

N'oubliez pas d'utiliser votre drone !

REMPLACER CECI
 
Tormentor

Le Tormentor est similaire à l'Incursus en terme de type de tank, car lui-aussi est capable de tenir sur la durée (mais un petit peu moins bien que l'Incursus).

Concernant son armement, le Tormentor est en revanche bien plus efficace que l'Incursus. Pas forcément en termes de DPS pur, mais parce que ses armes ont une très bonne portée (pour du corps à corps), ce qui permet d'ouvrir le feu plus tôt et de toucher plus facilement, ce qui résulte en des dégâts supérieurs en pratique, même si sur le papier, c'est l'Incursus qui tape le plus fort. N'hésitez pas à tenter de vous éloigner un peu si vous êtes face à un vaisseau en blasters (comme l'Incursus et le Merlin ci-dessus) pour bien exploiter cet avantage.

Malheureusement, en raison du powergrid et du CPU limités pour les débutants, ce Tormentor possède deux types d'armes similaires mais pas identiques, dans ses high-slots. Cela va compliquer un petit peu le maniement de celles-ci, mais il n'existe pas vraiment d'alternatives à part augmenter vos skills de powergrid pour équiper trois "Small Focused Pulse Energy Beam I".

Il est recommandé d'utiliser les munitions "Multifrequency" le plus souvent possible, mais les munitions "Standard" on plus de portée, ce qui peut être utile dans certaines situations. N'hésitez pas à abuser du changement de munitions puisqu'il est instantané pour les tourelles lasers.

N'oubliez pas d'utiliser vos drones !

REMPLACER CECI
 
Breacher

Le Breacher est un vaisseau très différent des autres ci-dessous en terme d'armement, puisqu'il utilise des rockets. Il possède une bonne portée (pour du corps à corps), et touchera toujours sa cible indépendament de la distance (du moment qu'on est dans à portée, bien sur). Par contre, ses dégâts sont moindres ! Pour compenser cela, il va falloir faire quelques efforts supplémentaires :

  • Profiter de la bonne portée des armes pour commencer à faire des dégâts le plus tôt possible (comme le Tormentor)
  • Adapter le type de munition utilisé au vaisseau rencontré

Concernant ce second point, il faut en effet savoir que le Breacher est le seul des 4 vaisseaux présentés ici, qui est capable de changer de type de dégât infligé. Il faut donc exploiter cela à plein potentiel !

  • Si l'adversaire est tank Shield (vaisseaux Caldaris, et quelques vaisseaux Minmatar), utiliser les missiles Mjolnir
  • Si l'adversaire est tank Armor, utiliser des missiles Nova
  • Faire un effort pour anticiper le changement de missiles le plus tôt possible, car cela requiert 10 secondes

Concernant son tanking, le Breacher est en tout point similaire au Merlin, c'est à dire qu'il peut tanker très fort pendant quelques temps, le temps que les renforts arrivent, ou tanker normalement pendant une durée moyenne, mais pas indéfiniement !

Point positif par rapport aux autres vaisseaux ci-dessus (et qui ont tous la même vitesse), le Breacher est 33% plus rapide !

Et encore une fois, n'oubliez pas d'utiliser vos drones !

REMPLACER CECI