Mining & Avoiding Ganks
Advanced Guides > Gameplay Specifics > Mining & Avoiding Ganks
Last revision 39 months ago

Introduction

If your main activity in high-sec is mining, you may have noticed that a group of player is warping in Asteroid Belts, and destroys mining barges using Catalysts, despite the presence of CONCORD. These people mainly belong to a group called "CODE", a high-sec ganking organisation with a bit of a roleplay touch. You can know more about them on this blog.

This guide will teach you how this type of ganking works, and the techniques that will enable you to reduce or prevent ganking attempts on your mining barge. Because in the sandbox, well balanced mecanics always have counters.

 Workings of a gank

The short version is that when an illegal aggression happens in high-sec, CONCORD, the in-game police, teleports to the crime scene after a delay. This reactivity delay is set by the Security Status of the system. On fragile ships, and using very offensive ships, the victim can be killed before CONCORD shows up to blow up the aggressor. Note that it is note possible for the aggressor to escape.

Gankers will also use a cloaked alt to provide a warp point to their ganking ships, so that they land very close to you. Combat probes can also be used. Then, as soon as the warp of the ganking ships ends, the gank can start.

Once the gank is over, gankers have to wait 15 minutes before they are able to undock ships again without being blow up by CONCORD.

RIsk reduction techniques

In order to minimize ganking risks, there are a few techniques at your disposal:

Use a Procurer

Explanation

Instead of using a Retriever, which is the mining barge with the best cargo capacity (therefore minimizing the need to do back and forths with the station), it is possible to use a Procurer. A version of the mining barge with less cargo capacity, but more tank.

With an appropriate tank, killing a Procurer will require at least twice as much effort from the gankers, which is generally enough to substantially diminish ganking risks.

Aligned mining

Explanation

Since your ship can instantly enter warp, as long as you have 75% of your maximum speed with the correct vector orientation, it is possible to mine while being aligned toward a warp out point.

This technique however requires reactivity, and being actively watching the screen at all times during your mining, something that is not so easy to do due to the frankly awful mining gameplay EVE has to offer.

Weaknesses

The issue with mining aligned, is that it is harder to stay at range of the asteroids you are trying to mine (since your ship is constantly moving). You therefore need to regularly re-align to somewhere else, leaving you vulnerable in the process, and requiring a lot more input.

Solutions

There is however a solution, which is the Medium Higgs Anchor I. This rig reduces your ship's maximum speed by 75%, improves its agility by 55%, and doubles its mass (resulting in a net 10% gain in agility). This rig enables you to be very slow and very hard to bump, but most importantly in our situation, it enables you to stay 4 times longer then before at range of the same asteroid, before having to re-align!

The only issue with this rig, is that it prevents you from quickly reaching your target asteroids... To counter that, a solution exists in the form of Mining Perches: Bookmarks, locations in space that are created by yourself and onto which you can warp. Placed at more than 150km from the asteroids, warping to a perch instead of warping directly to its corresponding Asteroid Belt (You need to create perches beforehand inside your mining system), will enable you to cherry pick which asteroid you want to warp to. (Try not to warp at 0 or you may bump against it).

The shortcut for creating a bookmark at your current location, is CTRL + B.

Concord Pulling

ExplanatiON

Third and last technique, CONCORD Pulling enables you to move CONCORD to your Asteroid Belt. Because when a crime is commited, CONCORD teleports onto the crimescene, kills the aggressor... And stays there! At least until another nearby crime is detected, or until the server downtime.

What makes the preemptive presence of CONCORD so valuable, is that the apparition delay due to the Security Status, doesn't apply here. Which stops most ganking opportunities.

Method

In order to pull CONCORD yourself, you need to use a secondary character which you don't care much about, and on which you are ready to ruin your Security Status. You then need to commit a crime at the location of your Asteroid Belt, which is accomplished by illegally attacking another player there.

NOTE: Be aware that biomassing secondary characters too often to avoid Security Status consequences, is a breach of the EULA. Therefore, do NOT try to biomass your secondary characters repeadedly to avoid falling too low in terms of Security Status.

Not to mention that it doesn't matter, as you can keep pulling CONCORD despite a low Security Status.

It is however important to note that gankers can also use a similar technique to move CONCORD away from you, by committing a crime elsewhere in the system, far away from you. It is therefore important that you keep an eye on your CONCORD pull to ensure that it is still nearby.

Minage : Éviter le ganking
Guides avancés > Points de gameplay > Minage : Éviter le ganking
Dernière révision il y a 35 mois

Introduction

Si votre activité principale en high-sec est le minage, vous avez pu remarquer qu'un groupe de joueur se promène dans les asteroid belts en Catalyst, et détruit les barges de minages d'autres joueurs malgré la présence de CONCORD. Ces gens là appartiennent principalement à un groupe appellé "CODE", un groupe de high-sec gankers avec des tendances roleplay. Vous pouvez en lire plus à leur sujet sur ce blog.

Ce guide a pour but de vous expliquer le fonctionnement de ce type de ganking, ainsi que les techniques vous permettant de réduire ou empêcher un gank sur votre précieuse barge de minage. Car dans la sandbox, toute mécanique de jeu bien équilibrée possède un contre !

 FOnctionnement d'un gank

Vous êtes invités à lire mon guide sur Crimewatch pour mieux comprendre le fonctionnement de la police en high-sec. Toutefois, la version courte est que lorsqu'une aggression illégale en high-sec se produit, la police dispose d'un délai de réactivité avant d'apparaître sur le lieu du crime. Durant ce délai, l'aggresseur peut taper sur sa victime en toute impunité. Ce délai est très court, et varie en fonction de Security Status du système. Sur des vaisseaux fragiles, et avec des vaisseaux très offensifs, il est possible de tuer la victime avant que CONCORD ne puisse s'occuper de l'aggresseur.

Les gankers vont généralement utiliser un alt invisible pour fournir un point de warp à leurs vaisseaux de gank, afin de warper juste à côté de vous, ou des combat probes. Dès lors, aussitôt que le warp des vaisseaux de gank (majoritairement des Catalysts) se termine, le gank peut commencer.

Quand le gank se termine, les gankers doivent attendre 15 minutes avant de pouvoir de nouveau undock des vaisseaux sans se faire tuer par la police.

Évitement ou réduction du risque

Avant de minimiser ou d'éviter le risques, quelques techniques sont possibles.

Usage d'un procurer

Explication

Plutôt que d'utiliser un Retriever, qui est la barge de minage possédant le plus de soute, et donc minimisant le plus possible vos allers et retours, il est possible d'utiliser un Procurer. Une version de la barge de minage possédant moins de soute, mais plus de tank.

Avec un tank approprié, tuer un Procurer demandera au moins deux fois plus d'efforts aux gankers, ce qui suffit généralement à diminuer substantiellement les risques de gank.

Miner aligné

Explication

Comme votre vaisseau peut partir en warp instantanément dès que vous avez 75% de votre vitesse max dans la bonne direction, il est possible de miner tout en étant aligné vers un point de "warp out" qui permet de s'enfuir.

Cette technique demande toutefois de la réactivité, et d'être présent à son écran au moment du minage, chose qui n'est pas très motivante ni gratifiante dans EVE.

Point faible

Le problème de miner aligné, est qu'il est plus difficile de rester à porter des astéroides pendant une durée de temps importante (puisque votre vaisseau bouge). Vous devez alors régulièrement trouver un autre point d'alignement qui vous permet de rester à portée des astéroides. Durant ce changement de point d'alignement, vous êtes vulnérables, sans parler du nombre plus élevés d'actions que vous avez à faire.

Solutions

Il existe toutefois une solution, qui s'appelle le Medium Higgs Anchor I. Ce rig réduit la vitesse maximale de votre vaisseau de 75%, augmente son agilité de 55%, et double masse (gain net d'agilité de 10%). Ce rig vous permet d'être très lent et très difficile à "bumper" (rentrer dedans pour vous empêcher de warp. Il convient parfaitement à la situation, puisqu'il vous permettra de rester aligné pendant quatre fois plus de temps avant de devoir changer de point d'alignement !

Seul problème de rig de Higgs Anchor, est qu'il vous empêche d'atteindre les asteroides rapidement... Pour cela, une solution existe sous la forme de Perches de minage : Une perche de minage est un bookmark, un point dans l'espace créé par vous-même et sur lequel vous pouvez warper dessus, se situant à plus de 150km de votre point d'arrivée.

Lorsque vous vous rendez sur votre Asteroid Belt, il vous suffit de warper à la place sur la Perche de Minage que vous aurez préalablement installé au dessus des belts de votre système solaire de minage. De là, vous avez la possibilité de sélectionner individuellement dans l'overview l'asteroid qui vous intéresse, et de warper dessus (si possible pas exactement à 0km).

Concord Pulling

Explication

Troisième et dernière technique, le CONCORD Pulling vous permet de déplacer CONCORD (la police du jeu) sur votre asteroid belt de minage. En effet, lorsqu'un crime est commis dans le système, CONCORD se téléporte sur les lieux du crime, détruit l'aggresseur, et reste en position... Jusqu'au prochain crime détecté à proximité,  ou jusqu'au downtime.

Or, lorsque CONCORD est déjà présent sur les lieux d'un gank, le délai d'apparition lié au Security Status du système ne s'applique pas, ce qui empêche toute possibilité de gank.

Méthode

Afin de pull CONCORD vous même, il est necéssaire d'utiliser un personnage secondaire sans intérêt, sur lequel vous êtes prêts à sacrifier du Security Status. Il faut ensuite faire commettre un crime à ce personnage, sur le lieu où vous comptez miner (donc attaquer illégalement un autre joueur).

NOTE: Attention de ne pas détruire trop souvent le personnage secondaire que vous utilisez pour attirer CONCORD. En effet, détruire des personnages dans le but d'échapper aux conséquences d'une baisse de Security Status est interdit par l'EULA.

En outre, vous pouvez continuer à faire venir CONCORD même si votre Security Status tombe trop bas.

Il est important de noter que les gankers peuvent employer une technique similaire pour faire s'éloigner CONCORD de vous, en commettant un autre crime dans le système, loin de là où vous êtes. Guêtez donc l'apparition / disparition de CONCORD pour être tenu au courant de ce qu'il se passe.