Presentation of the game
Discover the Game > What is EVE Online? > Presentation of the game
Last revision 61 months ago

What is EVE Online?

Introduction

EVE Online is an MMORPG, a genre which is dominated by World of Warcraft and its numerous clones. Thankfully, aside from belonging to the same category, these two games don't have much in common. By offering a deep and original gameplay, in a relatively dark and violent sci-fi universe, EVE has been able to stay afloat where so many have drowned, shadowed by WoW's influence... Which is an impressive feat considering that the game is even older than said WoW.

In EVE Online, your eventual past experiences in other MMOs will not be very useful. Most mechanics are wildly different, much deeper, and offer way more freedom. Your creativity will be much more stimulated, as will your initiative, ability to keep a cool head, or even your communication skills.

The best game trailer ever

Before we begin talking about EVE in more details, there is a video realized with actual gameplay recordings of actual players that I'd like you to see. CCP has kept the original audio, and redone with a very high fidelity the scenes in their own rendering engine, so that the UI is hidden, and the action more readable. The end result is exhilerating, and quite authentic. For once, this is a video game trailer that doesn't lie about the actual cntent of the game.

Aside from giving you a brief glimpse of what the game actually is, it will also show you the emotional weight that some in-game situations have, something that is truly unique to EVE, and is in big part due to the way the game is structured.. More on that later.

Watch the video

CCP

So let's delve deep into this guide's main focus! EVE Online is a game released in 2003 by CCP Games, an Islandic game development company. CCP is one of the companies that highly values player feedback and player communication, even before doing such was considered trendy. This shows in the end result, as EVE Online is a game that belongs as much to its players as it does to the company developping it.

Nearly bankrupt in 2003, CCP has managed to reverse the tide, to create something unique, to prosper... And reach the state that we see today, with a game that is more than 13 years old and counting, and with other projects still in development or already released (EVE Valkyrie, Project Nova, EVE Gunjack...)

The key, the small initial difference that changes everything, is that CCP has understood that instead of trying to grow at all costs by racing to the bottom until the game dies, it was much more viable to create customer loyalty and embrace game mechanics that might be more complex than average, creating a more engaging game. And once in-game, it changes everything! From the gameplay styles that the developper choses to adopt, to the value of player investment and trust, or even to the notion of accomplishment. Because once freed from the constraints of constant marketshare growth, it is possible to create massive and revolutionnary features, without the developer fearing to lose some of its customers.

Note: That doesn't mean that new players aren't welcome though. For instance, it can happen for a new player to get privately contacted by a GM, just passing by to see if said new player is encountering any specific issues during the tutorial.

EVE Is also...

EVE is also the endless evolution of a game that aims at turning into the "Ultimate SF Simulation". With more than 20 free biannual expansions, numerous graphical and gameplay changes, the game is showing that it has the means to keep trying to reach this ultimate goal. Everything happens on a single worldwide (except for the Chinese) server, called Tranquility, which means that beyond the numerous features of the game, the universe itself is also alive and somewhat "authentic"... Something often overlooked when tring to re-create a good Sci-fi universe.

EVE is also the place for excessiveness. Battles of hundreds of people, corporations able to reach 14 000 members, more than 7500 solar systems, millions of ships destroyed forever... Those are the numbers of the game. They may not be the norm, but they are possible and do occur in-game. What could be more authentic than a game that doesn't try to put virtual barriers in place to limit the strength of the biggest organizations? (In other MMOs, the maximum size of player groups is limited to ensure that their power level can be kept in check).

The sandbox

The core of the game!

As opposed to other MMOs, in EVE Online the NPCs only play a minor role, in the game's economy, in the player's progression... And even in its adventures. (EVE is, by the way, one of the only games that can legitimately use the term "economy" when talking about its trading system, as it is almost entirely player driven)

And so the main role falls on the players! This concept is simple in theory: The player is at the center of everything, but actually hard to implement, else the absence of any decent competition.

The sandbox translates to...

Let's take an item, for instance a ship. If you have used a Blueprint Original to build it, it is the only item in the entire industry chain that doesn't comes from a player. Everything else, from the minerals used to build the ship, to the research done on the blueprint to improve it, to the hauling of the minerals and  finite product, was fully done by one, or often multiple, players.

For your progression, this is the same thing: No need for devs to endlessly add new dungeons, new battlegrounds... In EVE, the progression is cyclic, whihc means that the goals that you have are YOUR decision... Because you can do pretty much everything, or nearly everything. Therefore, YOU also choose when your goal is reached, and what will be the next one. Hence the cyclic reference.

This freedom is also found in the way in which you equip your ship, as an infinite amount of module combinaisons are possible. I often define this concept of being like a toolbox: There is a lot of choice, and it's up to the player to compose with it, depending on its needs and desires. This works for the ship, as much as it works for the goals explained above.

Finally, let's take the example of a "low security" area. In a classical MMO, areas that are reserved to veteran players, are classified as such because of the monsters that will roam it. In EVE, other players are the danger. If there were no players, the game would be nearly secure everywhere. Once again, players are at the core of the content of the game. Not devs.

Key Points

Freedom

The game is balanced in such a way that there is no ultimate combinaison of modules for your ship... Instead, think of it like chess: Each module has strenghts, but each module can also be countered by something else. There is no perfect strategy, only adaptation. This opens the path for a ton of roles that you wouldn't see in other MMOs: Scout, Spy... Because information is key to adapting your strategy, and will matter, during a space battle, as much as your character (and player) combat skills.

Still about freedom, the recurring question coming from new players used to more mainstream MMOs, is "I have done the tutorial, what now?". This highlights the downside of beeing too free, as it forces EVE Players to find their own objectives. This itself is a very good point, but not for new players, as they only have a distant idea of the various careers of this game... Which is one of the most contributing factors to new players not sticking around long enough to enjoy the game.

Teamplay

Teamplay, as obvious as it may sound for an MMO, is an integral part of the game. EVE is really meant to be played together, and while you can reasonable explore and enjoy it alone, EVE's full potential can only be unlocked as a team.

This is not an MMO that will make you play alone, next to other players also playing solo. Or at least, it is not the most rewarding format.

Investment

Your character's progression is made of skills that improve with real life time. This means that your actual playtime doesn't matter as much, as your character will improve with or without you (as long as you keep putting new skills in its "skill queue"). The absence of restrictions or specializations means that any player can train any skill, leaving you with a lot of choice to do absolutely everything you want, on a single character.

But everything is a question of time, and you don't have any easy way to substantially shorten it. EVE is therefore a game that is best considered on its long timespan. Due to the way skill levels work (exponentially longer to train for each level), a veteran player will not be impossibly strong compared to a new player, and you can actually catch up this veteran relatively "quickly" (for EVE) in one specific domain. It is therefore fairly accessible to get as effective as a veteran players for specific activities, but what the veteran has, is that they will be effective in multiple domains.

This is a very clever way to let new players have a shot, while giving an advantage to veteran players, and make the progeression meaninguful. Note that EVE has some (rare) gameplay mecanics to restrict objectives to, for intsance, some of the first class of ships. These artifical limits are pretty rare, as they are not very "EVE-like", but they do offer some form of equality between two players of varied character age.

Still on investment, the large variety of game mecanics and their depth, means more complexity for the player. The progression curve will therefore be slower, but it offers lots of interesting possibilities during gameplay. Knowing when to bring what ressources to a fight can actually be much more important than bringing the theoretical best ressources. This ensures that the game stays fun for everyone, as smaller ships stay viable even in the end-game, and as in-game wealth will not equal success.

Stakes

What makes EVE, EVE.

In this game, there is no notion of reimbursment. What is lost, is lost forever. What is stolen or acquired through scamming, remains the property of the scammer. This means that any loss will not magically reappear in your ship hangar, that Game Masters will not refund you, and so on...

Likewise, goals that you can achieve are done on a long-term basis, with durations in days, weeks, and months... There is a lot more at stake when someone or something tries to endanger your goals, as they represent a substantial investment of time.

But is this actually a bad thing? No! As this is this very notion of risk, and reward, that gives its unique sensation to PvP Combat in EVE, and overall any risky enterprise. This is the very difficulty of realization of an objective, that makes it all the more rewarding to actually manage to pull it off!

 

Wrapping things up

We are now reaching the conclusion of this presentation. In addition to thanking you for sticking with this article for so long, I'd last to add one final word:

No, EVE is clearly not for everyone. It is a mature game where you cannot find any "instant fun" like you would on Call of... However, do not forget that just because you aren't familiar with some game mechanics, doesn't mean that they are incompatible with you!

This is not because most MMOs took the same approach, that other viewpoints aren't interesting to consider.

In order to truly wrap things up, here is a short CCP Trailer illustrating the concept of butterfly effect in EVE, something that can only happen in a game with a worldwide server, and a wide array of possibilities (including betrayal) embedded in rich and complex gameplay:

Please note that EVE is not a dogfighting game. You issue orders to your ship, and will not use a joystick or any controls of the sort to fly it.

At its core, EVE is more like a real-time, mono-ship strategy game.

Interested by the game? Don't forget to use the Trial Reward Program for your EVE Online account creation!

Présentation du jeu
Découverte du jeu > Qu'est-ce que EVE Online > Présentation du jeu
Dernière révision il y a 36 mois
J'ai réalisé une vidéo de présentation de EVE Online en huit minutes. Elle ne remplace pas cet article, mais peut le compléter et/ou offrir une alternative agréable à sa lecture :)

Qu'est-ce que EVE Online ?

Introduction

EVE Online est un jeu de type MMORPG (jeux en ligne massivement multijoueurs), dont le genre est largement dominé par World of Warcraft et ses nombreux clones. Mais au-delà du genre qu'ils ont en commun, toute comparaison s'arrête là. En effet, malgré cette domination, et d'ailleurs avant même que WoW n'existe, EVE Online a su tirer son épingle du jeu en proposant un gameplay original et complexe, le tout dans un univers de science-fiction sombre et violent.

Dans EVE Online, votre éventuelle expérience sur d'autres MMO ne vous sera que d'une piètre utilité, notamment si vous souhaitez rejoindre une corporation (l'équivalent d'une guilde dans d'autres jeux). Votre esprit d'initiative, votre sang-froid ou encore votre sens de la communication seront davantage mis à l'épreuve...

Trailer "this is EVE"

Avant de commencer à parler de EVE plus en détail, voici une vidéo officielle réalisée avec des vrais extraits de gameplay envoyés par des joueurs. CCP a conservé l'audio originel, et à reconstitué les visuels pour qu'on ne voie plus l'interface. Le résultat est grisant et, franchement, assez authentique. C'est à dire que les situations vues dans le trailer sont des situations pouvant réellement se passer en jeu.

On est très loin des trailers habituels qui sont très jolis, mais peu représentatifs du jeu !

 Regader la vidéo This is EVE (Unofficial French Subtitles)

LE développeur : CCP

Entrons donc dans le vif du sujet ! EvE Online est un jeu sorti en 2003 et développé par CCP Games, une société Islandaise. CCP base une partie de ses priorités sur ses capacités de communication et d’adaptation vis à vis de sa communauté (et ce ne sont pas des paroles en l’air). Au bord de la faillite en 2003, l’entreprise a su se redresser, créer quelque chose d’unique, et prospérer pour atteindre ce qu’elle est de nos jours, à savoir continuer à faire vivre un jeu pendant plus d'une décennie tel qu'EVE, tout en ayant des développements en cours sur le côté (Project Nova, EVE Valkirie, EVE Gunjack...)

La clé, la petite différence initiale qui change tout sur tous les plans, c’est que CCP a compris qu’au lieu de chercher à grandir, grandir et grandir en bouffant un maximum de parts de marchés en nivelant par le bas son jeu (jusqu’à le faire éclater comme un ballon qu’on gonfle trop), il valait mieux fidéliser une base de joueurs plus modeste mais bien plus fidèle… Et une fois en jeu, ça change tout ! Depuis les choix de gameplay jusqu’à la notion d’aboutissement, en passant par la valeur de l’investissement et de la confiance. Car alors, on peut créer des features importantes et révolutionnaires qui ne risquent pas de faire perdre à l’éditeur une partie de ses clients.

Combien d’entre vous ont déjà vu un MJ venir vous demander de manière spontanée si vous avez des questions et si tout va bien, lorsque vous débutez dans un MMO ? C’est arrivé à plusieurs de mes recrues. On peut dire ce que l’on veut, mais niveau relationnel CCP fait fort.

EVE, c'est aussi...

EVE c’est également la garantie d’une évolution perpétuelle d’un jeu qui vise à devenir « la simulation de SF ultime » (je cite). Le jeu a déjà connu plus de 20 extensions gratuites biannuelles (et désormais 1 release majeure toutes les huit semaines environ) à son actif, de nombreuses refontes graphiques… Le tout sur un seul serveur, nommé Tranquility, où l'ensemble des joueurs du monde entier se rencontre. A l'exception des joueurs chinois, qui ont leur propre serveur, Serinity.

EVE c'est également le lieu de la démesure. Batailles de centaines de personnes, corporations pouvant atteindre jusqu'à 14 000 membres, plus de 7500 systèmes solaires, des millions de vaisseaux détruits à jamais... voilà les chiffres auxquels vous pouvez être confrontés dans ce jeu. Ni l'un ni l'autre ne sont la norme, mais ils sont possibles et se produisent régulièrement. Quoi de plus authentique qu'un jeu qui ne met pas de barrière virtuelle pour limiter la puissance d'une organisation ? (Dans tous les autres MMOs, la taille des groupes de joueurs est limitée pour éviter qu'un de ces groupes prenne trop d'ampleur, et devienne plus difficile à contrôler.)

La sandbox :

Le coeur du jeu !

Contrairement aux autres MMOs, dans EVE Online les PNJ (Personnages non-joueurs) n’ont qu’un rôle marginal, tant dans l’économie du jeu que dans la progression du joueur, ou dans ses aventures. (C’est d’ailleurs le seul jeu qui peut se targuer d’employer avec légitimité le terme d’économie pour parler de son système commercial...)

Du coup le beau rôle revient aux joueurs ! Ce concept simple en théorie : le joueur est au centre de tout, mais extrêmement difficile à mettre en place, d'où l'absence de réelle concurrence dans le domaine.

Concrètement :

Prenez un objet, disons un vaisseau par exemple. Si vous avez utilisé un plan de construction original, c’est le seul objet qui provient de « nulle part », c’est à dire d’un PNJ. Tout le reste, depuis les minerais pour le fabriquer jusqu’à son acheminement dans l’endroit où vous l’avez vendu, en passant par les recherches effectuées sur ce plan, tout a été l’œuvre d’un ou (souvent) de plusieurs joueurs.

Pour votre progression, c’est la même chose. Pas besoin de développeurs pour rajouter sans cesse un nouveau champ de bataille ou un nouveau donjon lorsque vous avez fini le précédent. Dans EVE la progression est cyclique, c’est à dire que les objectifs que vous vous fixez ne dépendent que de vous.. Car vous pouvez tout faire… Ou presque, disons beaucoup de choses. C'est également vous qui définissez le moment où vous avez atteint votre objectif, et de là peut commencer un autre objectif (d'où le "cycle").

Cette liberté se retrouve également dans la manière dont on équipe ses vaisseaux, une infinité de combinaisons de modules étant possibles. Je définis souvent ce concept comme étant celui d’une boite à outils : Il y a beaucoup de choix, et c’est au joueur de composer en fonction de ses envies, de son style et de la situation. Cela fonctionne autant pour le vaisseau que pour des choses plus générales comme les objectifs évoqués ci-dessus.

Enfin prenons l’exemple d’une « zone dangereuse ». Dans un MMO classique les zones réservées aux joueurs aguerries le sont en raison des monstres qui y rodent, etc… Dans EvE, ce sont les joueurs qui font le danger. S’il n’y avait plus de joueurs, le jeu serait sécurisé à peu près partout.

Parlons maintenant des points clés d’EVE Online.

Points clés :

Liberté :

Déjà évoqué plus haut, ajoutons simplement que l’équilibre du jeu ne se situe pas au niveau d’une configuration d’équipement ultime que vous pourriez trouver pour votre vaisseau… Comprenez-le comme une partie d’échecs : Chaque module est fort, mais chaque module peut être contré par autre chose. Il n’y a pas de stratégie parfaite, seulement de l’adaptation. Cela ouvre d’ailleurs la voie à tout un tas de rôles que l’on n'a pas ailleurs : Éclaireur, espion… L’information permet d’adapter sa stratégie, et entre au moins autant en compte dans l’issue d’une bataille que les compétences de combat.

Accessibilité :

En raison de son serveur unique, le jeu est en anglais. La maîtrise de la langue n’est vraiment une barrière que pour apprendre les bases, plusieurs de mes recrues m’ayant confié après quelques mois de jeu ne même plus se rendre compte que le jeu était en anglais… Mais quand il faudra parler avec d’autres joueurs, des bases seront requises. (Ne serait-ce que pour comprendre que l’on vous rançonne ou que l’on vous propose la fin d’une guerre :p). Toutefois, si vous n’y arrivez pas, libre à vous de vous mettre dans une corporation de joueurs qui pourra régler ce genre de problèmes pour vous.

Sachez que le jeu a été traduit en français à la rentrée 2014. Je tiens toutefois à souligner que, si c'est une bonne chose pour l'accessibilité des tutoriels, vous passerez quand même à côté de beaucoup de choses si vous vous bornez à rester "entre français".

Toujours à propos de l’accessibilité, la question récurrente de débutants formatés par des années de MMOs « classiques » est « J’ai fini le tutoriel, je fais quoi ? ». Car oui, le fait d’être totalement libre vous impose aussi de vous trouver vos propres objectifs. On a parfois du mal à s’y faire au début, de ne plus avoir quelqu’un par dessus notre épaule pour nous dire d’aller tuer 25 sangliers. Il faudra alors faire preuve d'initiative et surtout, surtout, ne pas poursuivre le jeu en solo. Rester dans son coin à faire des missions ou du minage risque de juste de vous lasser au bout de quelques mois.

Jeu de groupe :

Le jeu de groupe, aussi con que cela paraisse, rebute aussi certaines personnes. EVE est un jeu fait pour être joué en groupe. Vous pouvez faire beaucoup de choses seul, mais ce n’est qu’en groupe que le jeu libère tout son potentiel.

Investissement :

La progression de votre personnage se fait par des skills qui s’améliorent avec le temps de la vie réelle. Ce qui signifie que votre temps de jeu importe peu, puisque votre personnage progresse avec ou sans vous. L’absence de restrictions ou de spécialisation vous laissant libre choix pour pouvoir absolument tout faire… Mais tout est une question de temps, et vous n’avez (presque) aucun moyen pour raccourcir ce temps. EVE est donc un jeu qui s’envisage sur la durée. Cela veut dire que qu’un joueur vétéran n’est pas extrêmement fort par rapport à ce que vous pourriez devenir en peu de temps… Mais lui sera bon dans plus de domaines.

C’est un moyen de laisser leur chance aux nouveaux joueurs tout en donnant un vrai avantage aux vétérans (repensez à ma métaphore des échecs, débloquer plus d’options pour agir est toujours un plus). A noter également qu’EVE propose différentes structures de gameplay permettant aux débutants de s’amuser même en PvP, c’est le cas par exemple du factionnal warfare dont certains objectifs ne sont accessibles qu’aux premières classes de vaisseaux. (Tout le monde se retrouve donc -plus ou moins- sur un pied d’égalité)

Toujours sur l’investissement, la grande variété de mécanismes et leur profondeur, signifie également plus de complexité pour le joueur, la courbe de progression et d’apprentissage est donc plus lente. (Mais si vous êtes en train de lire cette phrase, c’est que vous êtes entre de bonnes mains ! :p)

D’ailleurs, puisqu’on parle des confrontations entre joueurs, il est bon de noter qu’avoir les ressources et la puissance théorique ne fait pas tout dans EVE. Il s’agit avant tout de savoir quelles ressources amener à quel moment. C'est en cela que l'équilibrage du jeu est génial ! Les petits vaisseaux sont tout à fait viables en PvP, et les gros vaisseaux sont loin d'être le choix "end-game" et l'arme ultime.

Enjeu :

Ce qui fait tout le sel de EVE.

Ici, pas de notion de remboursement. Ce qui est perdu est perdu, ce qui est volé ou arnaqué est propriété du voleur/arnaqueur. Cela veut dire que la perte d’un vaisseau signifie que vous devrez le racheter et le ré-équiper, qu’une arnaque ne sera pas remboursée par les Maîtres du jeu, etc… Les relations entre membres au sein d’une corporation de petite taille sont souvent bien plus basées sur la confiance qu’ailleurs. « Serrer les fesses ensemble, ça crée des liens ! »

De même, les objectifs que vous réalisez se font sur du long terme, plusieurs jours, semaines, voir mois… Il y a beaucoup plus d’enjeux lorsque quelqu’un ou quelque chose vient mettre en péril vos projets !

Nul me direz-vous ? Que nenni ! C’est la notion de risque qui donne cette sensation unique aux combats PvP, c’est la difficulté de réalisation qui donne le bonheur unique d’accomplir un objectif complexe… Comment croyez vraiment que EVE a réussi à garder sa base de joueurs depuis 2003 ?

Je peux donc vous garantir (droit dans les yeux si je pouvais !) que le plaisir retiré en jouant à EVE est à la hauteur du temps passé à réaliser les objectifs. (C’est aussi le seul jeu où il nous est arrivé d’avoir un sourire jusqu’aux oreilles après une défaite cuisante)

Pour conclure :

Nous arrivons maintenant à la conclusion de cette présentation. En plus de vous remercier pour votre lecture, j’ajouterais le mot de la fin :

Non, EVE n’est clairement pas fait pour tout le monde. C’est un jeu mature où la moyenne d’age est autour de la trentaine, où l’on ne peut pas trouver du « fun instantané » comme sur Call of’… Néanmoins n’oubliez pas que des mécanismes qui ne vous sont pas coutumiers, ne vous sont pas forcément inadaptés ;). Ça n’est pas parce que l’on vous a habitué à un style de MMOs qu’une autre approche n’est pas intéressante.

Afin de compléter tout ceci, voici une vidéo réalisée par CCP, et dont le but est d’illustrer le concept de Sandbox et de causalité. :

Attention : EVE ne se joue pas à la manette. Ce n'est pas un jeu de dogfight, c'est un jeu de PvP stratégique qui passe donc par des "ordres" que vous donnez à votre vaisseau.

Le jeu vous intéresse ? N'oubliez pas d'utiliser le programme de parrainage pour la création de votre compte !